— Dayoung Kim Y7 Noro —

23rd Nov. 2016.

 

When I was 9 years old, I didn’t believe in the existence of superheroes. I thought that there was no reason to believe in superheroes; as far as I was concerned, superheroes were made-up characters that merely interested children, and no one else. When I became twelve, however, my opinion totally changed. I became a total fan of superheroes. Yes, it is implausible. Believe me, even I couldn’t understand myself.

It was a normal Sunday morning. As usual, I was writing a short story which was due in the next day. It was about some absurd superhero, which, of course, I didn’t believe in. I had no idea how to lead the plot, and I was too tired to continue anyway. Slowly, my eyes closed, and finally I fell asleep.

When I woke up, I was lying on the streets, and I certainly did not recognise anything.

I felt dizzy – I guessed that I had collided with something as I got to this place. I tried to stand up and I saw my feet, stuck to the ground.

“Geez! What a bummer.”

It was by that time that I noticed myself wearing a strange jumpsuit. But it wasn’t only that – I somehow found the jumpsuit familiar. No wonder, I had made my character in my own essay wear the exact same design. It was orange with a glistening black belt, and the shoes were linked to the boots.

Right then, something very loud, and dark darted over my head. As soon as I started to look up, someone called.

“Hey!” He put his hand on my shoulder, and at the same time I felt a chill go through my spine. I turned my head to see a man, wearing a mask the shape of a blue monster.

“You’ve got better things to do than simply look around! Follow me!” He was wearing a jumpsuit like mine, but his was slightly different. It was a scarlet red, which I pretty much preferred.

There was silence as we moved along. No creature was making a single noise, except for some birds. I tried many different ways to keep up the conversation. I sighed, coughed, and even yawned on purpose. Still, he did not say anything. Finally, I decided to speak up with after gathering up much courage.

”Um… may I ask your name and why you are wearing the mask?” I asked, trying my best to sound as innocent as possible.

“Superhero,” he replied. “You don’t have to know my name, just call me Mr. Super. And you don’t have to worry about the mask; I’m not the bad guy.” He did not look like the bad one, but I was sorry to say that he did not look that kind either.

“Okay. Wait, what? Superhero?” I couldn’t believe it.

Doubting myself, we walked on for at least another half an hour. I felt so uncomfortable, thanks to the jumpsuit that totally failed in absorbing my sweat. Just before I was close to ranting out loud my complaints, Mr. Super announced our arrival.

The palace that stood in front of us was huge, with silver walls.

“Is that your home?” I asked, in disbelief.

“Yes,” he replied, excited to show off. I followed Mr. Super to enter his palace. For the first time, I thought he was a real superhero.

Suddenly, Mr. Super turned and asked me for my name. As I hesitated, he explained himself.

“I would like to to have you as my personal assistant. Would you like to be one?” I was kind of surprised.

“What? An assistant?”

“Yes, you’ve heard me right,” he said with a smile.

“What do you mean your assistant? Do you need someone to help you?” Clearly, my confusion was not going away.

“Sort of. I need someone to help me while I fight with the villains. You interested?”

“Yes, I would love to be one. But before that can I see some of the superpowers you have? I’ve read about them in books.”

He seemed to be confused.

“Superheroes are humans, same as you! But I’ll try to show you some of my fighting skills.” He then warmed up, kicking, punching, and so on. To me, it looked as if he was doing some kind of dance.

“Okay then. What kind of help do you need from me?” He stopped dancing.

“Ummm..You can just turn on the audio for me to dance! Oh, and perhaps you can dance with me?”

“No way, I don’t want to be an assistant dancer turning on and off the audio.” I tried to leave the palace.

“If you really want to go back to your home, it’s your choice, but I hope you to choose to stay with me.” I could see that he was trying his best to persuade me.

Well, I was anticipating an adventure, and after some thought I decided to stay. To myself I thought that Mr. Super clearly was not a superhero. He was just a sneaky man who came up with blatant lies to make people do things for him. I swore to myself that I would never trust him. Never.

The next morning, I tried my best to figure out how to get out of this palace.

“Mr. Super! Mr. Super!” I guess he had left the palace. However, I was too hungry, and ventured to the kitchen to get something to eat. In the refrigerator, there was one sticky note from Mr. Super. It said:

 

To my assistant,

Hi, this is Mr. Super. I’m here to tell you how to go back to your home. First, I suggest that you change back into your own clothing – they are in the closet on the third floor. Second, you should go down to the first floor and get yourself a glass of orange juice. Then, fetch a piece of cheese and eat it. As soon as you swallow it, a hole will appear in the ground right in front of you. Just jump into it, and it will take you to your house. Hope you enjoyed your trip!

Sincerely,

Mr. Sandefur

P.S. I think it is about time that I tell you my name – Sandefur.

 

“Mr. Sandefur? He is my Maths teacher! What on earth is going on here?” I remembered that he was wearing a mask to hide his face. In addition, I knew that Mr. Sandefur loved  blue monsters. I felt dizzy once again – all my memories seemed to be mixed up.

“Uh!” When I opened my eyes, I was in my Maths classroom, and Mr. Sandefur was teaching. I turned my head to look at the clock.

“What? 12:24?” I shouted out loud.

“Sally! Sit down and be quiet!” Mr. Sandefur shouted.

“Oh! Mr. Sandefur, are you a superhero?” I asked with a sense of seriousness in my voice. The others laughed at me.

“Did you have a sweet dream, Sally?” shouted one of my classmates.

“Did I fall asleep?” Mr. Sandefur seemed to be shocked.

“Yes, you did! I didn’t wake you up because I wanted you to learn how important paying attention in my math class is!”

“Oh… I actually did learn something about you. You love dancing!”

“What?” shouted the whole class except for me.

“You know it’s funny, but that’s true. I swear.” Everyone laughed and laughed. The class finished, and everyone ran as fast as they could to get lunch, while Mr. Sandefur invited me to a detention.

